About The Event

Competition Formula

First Round  Oct 29, '10-Nov 3, '10

The 2010 FIVB Women’s World Championship will comprise a total of 104 matches.
First Round 60 matches, 5 days and 4 cities from 29 October – 3 November.
The 24 teams are split into four pools (A, B, C and D) of six teams each.
A single round robin format is played to determine the ranking in each pool.
The four top ranked teams in each pool qualify for the second round.
The fifth and sixth ranked teams (a total of eight teams) are eliminated from the World Championship.

  • Every team will play five games in the first round.
  • The winner of each game is awarded 2 winning points.
  • The loser of each game receives 1 point.
  • A team that withdraws from competition receives no points.
  • If teams share the same number of points, then point ratio determines final standings.